Capturing the Canyon

Destination: Grand Canyon, Arizona

Two weeks left in Vegas and we found ourselves early Saturday morning on a bus headed towards the Grand Canyon with good friends. None of us had ventured out to view this wonder, and with our time in Vegas shrinking quickly there was no time like the present.

Daniel and I doing our signature high five overlooking the canyon.

Daniel and I doing our signature high five overlooking the canyon.

The first stop on our bus ride before the journey to the Grand Canyon was a stop at the bridge that over looks the Hoover Dam. The bus ride voiceover narrated our drive through the suburbs that lead up to the dam stop left me very nostalgic, hearing the history of Henderson, the city where I grew up. I had a sneaky suspicion that I was the only one awake and enjoying the narration!

The lengthy bus ride out there was highly underestimated! I didn’t realize how long the drive was out there; I think we all were a bit shocked. I had a preconceived notion that it would be a short drive, no more that when heading out to Utah. Wrong! But I used it for some much loved reading time, almost finishing Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (J.K Rowlings pseudonym) during our turn around trip (highly recommend this book, even without my Potterhead bias!).

Overlooking the Canyon. Could you imagine running into that crossing the West?

Overlooking the Canyon. Could you imagine running into that crossing the West?

Fast forward to the canyon, absolutely breath taking. The kind of beautiful that seems unreal, the kind that made me feel that it was actually a giant green screen with this background imposed into our photos. As my childlike imagination wandered, wondering, “Maybe it was stolen by a super villain in Despicable Me and this is an over the top replica to fool us all?”

Our day of wonder and awe was extended when a tourist got into quite the confrontation with our bus driver as we loaded up for the drive home. Park rangers, cops and flashing lights were involved making our arrival time at home just past midnight. Despite the drama of fellow travelers outside of our control, I highly recommend this tour to anyone in the area looking to get out of ‘Sin City’ for a little nature and wonder. I also highly recommend going with fun friends as we did!

Happy Travels!

Blogging my Ashleigh

 

 

 

P.S. Anyone looking to discuss some wonderful reads, let’s chat!

Leave a Reply

