House Sweet House

Current City: Dededo, Guam

House KeysYay! We have Internet!

Well I’m happy to report that Daniel and I have a roof over our heads that we can call our own! (Pause for happy dance!)

We received the keys Friday evening and are now anxiously anticipating the arrival of our things so that we may begin making it our own. The house is very much empty and filled with echoes since it is all tile floors, except our blow up bed/couch. Yup, you read that right, or air mattress doubles as a couch. We don’t know if that shows how redneck we are or innovative, oh well!

I’m excited for our goods to arrive so we can fill our echoing opera hall, but until then we’re enjoying the simplicity and innovativeness we need to make ends meet. You’d be surprised what little things you take for granted. It’s nice to talk, read or what not before bed and enjoy each others’ company instead of going full on zombie in front of the television every night. Unfortunately all of our kitchen goods aren’t here either so we’ve upgraded from take-out to sandwiches and microwavable dinners.

Our First HomeThe first night we slept in the house the carbon monoxide alarms started going off around 3:30 a.m. and last night the fire alarm kept going of in single chirps at random in our room, which was very unsettling around 4:00 a.m. We chalked it up to the power outage that evening, but why must everything go off at that hour in the morning?! I then had the mistake of telling Daniel about the devil’s hour, which my horror buff cousins and I thought was common knowledge. Daniel doesn’t do horror and I think I really frightened him! So sorry, I guess those years of horror stuck with me more than I thought!

Also very exciting, Daniel’s truck has arrived! Daniel’s pretty stoked to have her back, and I’m excited to have a vehicle to use when he’s at work during the day!

More and more we’re getting settled in our new home, still so much we learn everyday!

Blogging my Ashleigh

Leave a Reply

